<xmp> <body><script type="text/javascript"> function setAttributeOnload(object, attribute, val) { if(window.addEventListener) { window.addEventListener('load', function(){ object[attribute] = val; }, false); } else { window.attachEvent('onload', function(){ object[attribute] = val; }); } } </script> <div id="navbar-iframe-container"></div> <script type="text/javascript" src="https://apis.google.com/js/plusone.js"></script> <script type="text/javascript"> gapi.load("gapi.iframes:gapi.iframes.style.bubble", function() { if (gapi.iframes && gapi.iframes.getContext) { gapi.iframes.getContext().openChild({ url: 'https://www.blogger.com/navbar.g?targetBlogID\x3d11782355\x26blogName\x3dConnecticutBLOG\x26publishMode\x3dPUBLISH_MODE_BLOGSPOT\x26navbarType\x3dSILVER\x26layoutType\x3dCLASSIC\x26searchRoot\x3dhttp://connecticutblog.blogspot.com/search\x26blogLocale\x3den_US\x26v\x3d2\x26homepageUrl\x3dhttp://connecticutblog.blogspot.com/\x26vt\x3d2618633873490899171', where: document.getElementById("navbar-iframe-container"), id: "navbar-iframe" }); } }); </script> </xmp>

Wednesday, November 08, 2006

State race roundup

MikeCT at MLN breaks it all down the big state races.


Open seats - Dems win

  • Jason Bartlett defeats Gallagher, picking up former R seat

  • Beth Bye defeats Barbara Carpenter for Bob Farr's R seat!  West Hartford now all-Democratic!

  • Tom Kehoe defeats Susan Karp for previous Sonny Googin R seat

  • Bryan Hurlburt wins over Teveris, keeping Democratic seat

  • Frank Nicastro defeats Henry, keeping Dem seat

  • Joe Taborsak defeats Seabury, keeping Dem seat of Lew Wallace

  • Elissa Wright defeats Bond, picking up former R seat (Winkler)

Open seats- Rs win


D challengers defeat R incumbent

  • Kim Fawcett defeating Cathy Tymniak (5 of 6 precincts)

  • William Tong defeats Don Sherer

R challengers defeat D incumbent

  • Ron Burns defeats Roger Michele

Other Notables

  • Joe Aresimowicz (D) defends seat against Pocock, who far out-raised him

  • Mike Alberts (R) keeps seat against Sherri Vogt (sigh)

  • Derek Donnelly -D lost to Fahrbach

  • John Harkins - R defeats Dave Mooney


Open seats - Republicans win

  • Sam Caliguiri beats David Zoni for Chris Murphy's old Senate seat

  • Dan Debicella beats Chris Jones (17 of 19 precincts)

Open seats - Dems win

  • Andy Maynard beats Winkler for Cathy Cook's old R seat

  • Paul Doyle (conservative Dem) beats Capenera, keeping Dem seat

Dem Senator challengers beat R incumbent

  • Steve Berry beats incumbent Tom Herlihy

Notable races

  • Ed Meyer beats Family Institute candidate Gregg Hannan (yeah!) 63-37

  • Gayle Slossberg beats Lisaman 2-1

  • Andrea Stillman beats Family Inst. candidate Oliveira

  • Sen Andy McDonald defeats Family Inst candidate Giordano

  • Dem Ed Krumeich very narrowly loses challenge to Claudia Powers in Greenwich!